Saturday, May 16, 2009

Sex Theme Park in China.

UPDATE March 20 2009: Heh, guess Chongqing officials felt mostly the same way Singaporean officials do. The planned park has been demolished.

Here is an updated article from the BBC: "China sex theme park demolished" (04:25 GMT, Monday, 18 May 2009 05:25 UK).

Pity ...

This from the BBC: "China builds first sex theme park" (14:36 GMT, Saturday, 16 May 2009 15:36 UK).

Image from the BBC article:

China is building what is billed as its first sex theme park, aimed at improving both the sex education and the sex life of its visitors.

In the heart of industrial town Chongqing! Yay for "Asian Values"! To be fair, I believe this is a private enterprise rather than a state venture.

My thoughts: even the Chinese government appear to believe it is better to let citizens decide for themselves the "appropriateness" of the park by its success or failure through market forces. If no one shows up because they are uncomfortable with it, it will have to close down. If only the sexually deprived show up, I doubt they'd get off on much of the stuff there and after prolonged exposure (no pun intended) to the displays, so it will also have to eventually close down.

I hope it succeeds in its goals. I hope the Chinese will pull the rug from under the Singapore government's excuses for conservatism in Singapore. I hope the obvious cherry-picking of "values" (from East and West, as and when it is convenient) will be exposed for what it is and Singaporeans will emerge from it stronger and more confident about its own identity and culture.

No comments: